The Music Theory Society’s Journal

ISSN 2308-1333

The Charter of the Society for Theory of Music, founded in 2011, contains a clause stating that, among its other events and initiatives, the Society will be publishing a scholarly online journal in order to achieve its main goal, which is to favor the music theory development and improvement. Its first issue was published on our website on 3 April 2013.

The Journal of the Society for Theory of Music has four issues per year. This is the first and only Russian periodical specifically dedicated to music theory, which is the most important branch of musicology represented by various courses and schools. The new online format of the journal allows us to be more vividly receptive of subjects that are topical for music theory in Russia. Among them should be mentioned the specificities of musical scholarship and its methodology, as well as the position of musicology within the sphere of humanitarian studies and methodical innovations in the system of music theory teaching. The main goal of the journal is our striving to keep the community of our colleagues updated on today’s most important scholarly trends. To a great extent, this goal is going to be favored with regular publications of the materials of the Congresses of the Society for Theory of Music which gather musicologists from all over the world together and, starting from 2013, become the pivotal biannual event in the intellectual life of the community of musicologists.

​The Founder
Regional Public Organization for the Promotion of Music Science and Pedagogy "Society of Music Theory"

The Editor
Federal State Budgetary Educational Institution of Higher Education "P.I. Tchaikovsky Moscow State Conservatory"

The Editorial Board

Assc. Prof. Anna A. Amrakhova, D.A.,
Chief Editor;
Moscow P.I. Tchaikovsky Conservatory

Prof. Alexander S. Sokolov, D.A.,
Head of Music Theory Department, Rector of Moscow P.I. Tchaikovsky Conservatory,
President of the Council of Society for Theory of Music

Prof. Alexander L. Maklygin, D.A.,
Zhiganov Kazan State Conservatory
Vice-President of the Council of Society for Theory of Music 

Prof. Konstantin V. Zenkin, D.A.,
Deputy Rector for Scholarly Affairs (Moscow P.I. Tchaikovsky Conservatory)
Treasurer of the Council of Society for Theory of Music 

Prof. Hermann Danuser, Ph.D., honorary doctor
Humboldt University of Berlin, Germany

Prof. Olga V. Loseva, D.A.;
Moscow P.I. Tchaikovsky Conservatory 

Honorary doctor, Severine Neff, Ph.D.,
The University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill, USA

Prof. Alexey A. Panov, D.A.
Director of the Department of Organ, Harpsichord and Carillon, and the Vice-Dean of the Faculty of Arts at the Saint Petersburg State University

Assc. Prof. Giorgio Sanguinetti,
Department of Musicology and History of Music of the Faculty of History, Culture Patrimony, Education and Society at the University of Rome Tor Vergata

Michiel Schuijer, Ph.D.,
Lecturer, Coordinator of master's electives and research works, Head of the Department of composition and music theory (Amsterdam Conservatory, Netherlands), Master consultant (University of Amsterdam, Netherlands)

Prof. Elena V. Titova, Ph.D. in Art Studies;
Head of the Music Theory Department of Rimsky-Korsakov St. Petersburg State Conservatory

Prof. Ildar Khannanov, Ph.D.,
Peabody Institute of The Johns Hopkins University, USA

Prof. Ludwig Holtmeier, Ph.D.,
Rector of The Freiburg University of Music, Germany

Prof. Tatiana V. Tsaregradskaya, D.A.;
Head of international Department of the Gnesins Russian Academy of Music

Prof. Cheong Wai Ling, Ph.D.,
Head of the Faculty of Music, The Chinese University of Hong Kong, China

Prof. Gesine Schröder, Ph.D.,
University for Music and Performing Arts Vienna, the University for Music and Drama "Felix Mendelssohn Bartholdy" Leipzig

The Editorial Staff

Assc. Prof. Anna A. Amrakhova, D.A.,
Chief Editor

Jaroslav Stanishevsky
Editor & Translator